Unique Awards

Haakon Haakonsson Award

This award is exclusive to the Canadian Birkebeiner and awards skiers who have skied in the Norwegian, American and Canadian Birkebeiner long distance events. Skiers from all over Canada, many from the USA, and other international skiers have won this award.

Click here for more information and to see a list of recipients. 

Ole Hovind Award

The Ole Hovind Award is presented annually to the skier who best represents the spirit of the Birkebeiner and the things which Ole Hovind valued – skiing for the sheer joy of it, having fun, joking a lot, achieving something and just getting out there and doing it.   

    Read Ole's story and see who has won the Award here.

    John Toonen Memorial Award

    The John Toonen Memorial Award was donated by John’s wife, Margaret, and is presented annually to the oldest skier in a 55 km event.

      Read John's story and see who has received the John Toonen Memorial Award here.

      Founders' and Builders' Award

      The Founders' & Builders' Award is presented to an individual who worked to create the Canadian Birkebeiner Ski Festival and/or who has been a key contributor to growing this event over the years.

      See the recipients of this award created in 2013.

      The Coloured Bibs

      Wondering why some skiers are wearing a red, blue, purple or yellow cloth bib?

      Click here for more information.

      Bike 'n Ski Award

      In 2014, the Canadian Birkebeiner Society and Multiple Sclerosis Society - Alberta and NWT Division - partnered up to create a unique award opportunity; the Bike ‘n Ski Award. The award celebrates individuals who complete both a long course Canadian Birkie cross country ski event (55, 31 or 29 km) and the Leduc-Camrose MS Bike Tour or the Hinton Mountain Bike Tour.

      Click here for more information.